Arts & Sciences FAQs

1. What are the arts and sciences awards given?

There are five:

  1. The Golden Calon Swan, which is the AoA level award given for skills in the arts.
  2. The Leather Mallet, which is the AoA level award given for skills in the sciences.
  3. The Calon Lily, which is the GoA level award given for skills in the arts. This is a polling order.
  4. The Silver Hammer, which is the GoA level award given for skills in the sciences. This is a polling order.
  5. The Laurel. This is the peerage order for those skilled in the arts and/or sciences.
2. What is an art and what is a science?

The official list of what is an art and what is a science can be found in the front of the Kingdom Judging Criteria.

3. What is Kingdom Criteria?

Calontir has an official set of guidelines, a point based system, for judges to use. Currently there are criteria for 66 different categories of arts and sciences such as bardic, spinning, armor, etc. With a few exceptions, each of these categories has six sections for each item to be judged on: Documentation, Authenticity, Workmanship, Complexity, Creativity, and overall Quality, with up to six points given for each. A total of points from these six sections is given for the entrant’s overall score.

There are separate levels of guidelines for each category corresponding to the level of the entry: Novice, Intermediate, or Advanced.

There is a copy of the judging criteria on this web page and your local Arts and Sciences officer should have a hard copy as well.

4. What are the different levels of criteria or entries and which level to I belong in?

Calontir has three levels of entries-Novice, Intermediate, and Advanced. There are separate criteria written for each level for each category of arts and sciences. In some cases, everyone who enters a competition, event, or display will be judged at a particular level, regardless of the individual’s achievement (for example, Queen’s Prize is a novice level display). However, in general, the entrants will decide for themselves what level of artisan they are. They should then be ready to be judged by that level of criteria.

5. What is face to face judging?

One of the best things about Calontir Arts and Sciences is the face-to-face judging system. This system is used for Kingdom Arts and Sciences events and at some, but not all, local competitions. Face-to-face judging is just that; there are no anonymous judges. The entrant sits down with the judges and the project and discusses it together. There are usually three judges who are recognized as competent in the entry’s category who work in consensus to award points (if using criteria) or give general feedback. This allows the entrant to answer questions the judges may have or elaborate on some point that may not be in the documentation. It also allows for the judges to temper each other and the entrant knows immediately how the project fared. And it gives the entrant time to approach an authority such as the autocrat or judgecrat of an event if they feel they were judged unfairly.

6. What is Queen’s Prize?

Queen’s Prize is a novice-level Kingdom arts and sciences competition held during the winter reign. Her Majesty, who is Patroness of the Arts and Sciences chooses in Court the entry which most impresses her, thus the reason it is called Queen’s Prize.

The entrant may not have a Silver Hammer, Calon Lily, or Laurel. So, for example, a Knight or Pelican could enter if s/he does not have one of those awards, and so could someone with no awards.

The entrants do not compete against each other. The entrants are judged against themselves using general feedback. Three judges, face-to-face, judge them working in consensus. Displays are encouraged and documentation is highly encouraged.

The entrant must have a sponsor that IS a Silver Hammer, Calon Lily, or Laurel. The sponsor may help the entrant but may not do any part of the project for them.

The sponsor must bring to the event a small ‘prize,’ which they then give to one of the other entrants there. The sponsor must bring one prize per person that they have sponsored (HL A has sponsored three people, she brings three prizes and gives them to three entrants other than the ones she sponsored). Only one prize may be given to any entrant, and this is done during Court at the event. There is a sign-up sheet or cards with this information on them at a particular table at the event, so that there is no duplication.

The populace is also encouraged to bring small tokens of appreciation to give to entrants throughout the event and to write in the Comment Booklets provided for each entrant.

7. How do I enter Queen’s Prize?

First find a sponsor-do not wait to be approached by someone, feel free to ask them. Then either look online for an entry form to fill out or mail one in-they are usually given out at events before Queen’s Prize and printed in the Mews. These must be completed and mailed in to the Autocrat by the published deadline. Do not mail your project itself; you will bring that to the event.

The day of the event you will check in at Troll and at Entrants’ Check-In where you’ll receive a packet with info on your judging and where you should set up. During the day you can sit with your entry and talk to people looking at the projects or you can wander around the site looking too. You, too, should be small tokens (like chocolate, a pretty stone, tassel, or favor) for the ones you like. In Court you will be called up to receive a small prize from a sponsor who liked your efforts.

8. What is Tri-Levels?

Kingdom Tri-Levels is held in conjunction with Kingdom Championship during the summer reign. Tri-Levels is open to any level of artisan who wishes to participate. It is an open competition where entrants are judged by the Kingdom criteria face-to-face with three judges. The entrant chooses what level of expertise his or her entry is judged by (Novice, Intermediate, or Advanced). The entrants do not compete against each other; they compete against the criteria. From the Tri-Level entries there is usually a Judge’s Choice awarded in Court, chosen by the judges at the event.

9. How do I enter Tri-Levels?

There are entry forms printed in the Mews before the event and are usually also available at events and/or online. Complete it and mail it in to the Autocrat before the due date. Do not mail in the entry, bring it to the event.

The day of the event you will check in at Troll and then at the Entrant’s Check In to receive a packet on where you are to set up your entry and when you’ll be judged. Put your entry out and then you can sit with it to talk to passers-by or go look around. You are encouraged to bring small tokens off appreciation to other entrants and to write in their comment booklets.

10. What is the Kingdom Championship?

This is the competition that determines the Kingdom of Calontir’s Arts and Sciences Champion for the year. This person will champion the arts and sciences in Calontir and will represent the Kingdom to the Known World in foreign competitions and wars. For the next year the Champion will wear the Champion’s baldric and will get to keep the Champion’s Scroll on which the names of all prior Champions are written.

This competition is held in conjunction with Tri-Levels and is open to all artisans. Each hopeful must enter three advanced level arts and/or sciences in three separate categories (no one can enter more than one of any one thing). The judging is face-to-face with three judges and is stricter than Tri-Levels judging. The entrants compete against each other.